لمحة عن سانت كيتس ونيفيس

سانت كيتس ونيفيس عبارة عن جزيرتين تقعان في اتحاد جزر الهند الغربية البريطانية. ويبلغ طولها 23 ميلا وعرضها خمسة أميال، كما تعرف أيضا باسم اتحاد سانت كريستوفر ونيفيس، وتبلغ مساحتها 68 ميلا مربعا. تقع جزيرة نيفيس على بعد ميلين إلى الجنوب من سانت كيتس ويبلغ قطرها قرابة 7 أميال، وتغطي مساحة إجمالية قدرها 36 ميلا مربعا..

يتبع اتحاد سانت كيتس ونيفيس نظام الحكم الديمقراطي القائم على النظام البرلماني البريطاني. وكجزء من الكومنولث البريطاني، ترأس الاتحاد جلالة الملكة إليزابيث الثانية، ملكة انكلترا. وهو أيضا عضو في الأمم المتحدة، ومنظمة الدول الأمريكية، ومنظمة كاريكوم ومختلف المنظمات الدولية الأخرى..

وفيما يلي قائمة بالسفارات في سانت كيتس ونيفيس:

النمسا والبرازيل وكوبا وفنلندا وفرنسا وألمانيا وغويانا والهند وإسرائيل وإيطاليا وجامايكا وإيرلندا والنرويج وإسبانيا وتايوان وتركيا والمملكة المتحدة.

في رحلة اكتشافية قام بها السير كريستوفر كولومبوس في 1493، واحتلت سانت كيتس من قبل بعثة الاسبانية. خلال أواخر القرن السابع عشر وأوائل القرن الثامن عشر، كانت فرنسا وإسبانيا تعيشان بشكل منفصل في سانت كيتس، وحاربتا من أجل السيطرة عليها حتى أصبحت سانت كيتس تحت الحكم البريطاني خلال القرن الثامن عشر. حصلت الجزيرة على استقلالها باسم السير كريستوفر كولومبوس، في عام 1983 وأصبحت منذ ذلك الحين اتحاد سانت كيتس ونيفيس. احتلت جزيرة نيفيس، التي كانت تسمى لقب “ملكة الكاريبيين” بسبب ثرواتها، من قبل الإسبان في عام 1629، ولكنها عادت في نهاية المطاف إلى إنجلترا بموجب معاهدة مدريد في عام 1630. وكانت نيفيس رسميا المستعمرة ذات الناتج الفردي الأعلى في الإمبراطورية البريطانية.

ويبلغ عدد سكان هذا البلد 52000 نسمة، ويتمتعون بمعدلات عالية من التعليم تبلغ 97.8٪. اللغة الرسمية هي الإنجليزية. ومن الديانات والمذاهب الموجود نشير إلى الأنجليكانية، الكاثوليكية الرومانية، الديانات البروتستانتية، الإسلام والراستفارية..

ومن المعروف أن الجزر التوأم سانت كيتس ونيفيس مشهورة باستضافة العديد من الفعاليات الثقافية والموسيقية، بما في ذلك الكرنفال السنوي، مهرجان سانت كيتس الموسيقى و كولتوراما. يحتفل الناس بالعديد من المهرجانات في 19 أيلول / سبتمبر للاحتفال بعيد استقلال سانت كيتس ونيفيس. الجزر مشهورة للغاية بالمسيرات الملونة، الرقص في الشوارع، السالسا، موسيقى الجاز، سوكا، كاليبسو وموسيقى ستيلبان..

ويعتمد اقتصاد سانت كيتس ونيفيس على السياحة والزراعة والصناعات الخفيفة. تاريخيا ومنذ 1640، كان السكر يشكل التصدير الرئيسي للبلاد. غير أن جهود الحكومة للحد من اعتماد البلاد على السكر أدت إلى التنويع الاقتصادي. وتضطلع الزراعة والسياحة والتصنيع الموجه للتصدير والقطاعات المصرفية الخارجية بدور أكبر فى اقتصاد البلاد. كما قامت البلاد بتطوير صناعة الملابس الناجحة وتضم واحدة من أكبر صناعات تجميع الالكترونيات في منطقة البحر الكاريبي..

ولا يزال اقتصاد سانت كيتس ونيفيس مدفوعا بالدرجة الأولى بالسياحة – وهو قطاع شهد نموا مذهلا منذ عام 1978. وتشير البيانات إلى حدوث زيادة تدريجية في عدد السياح الذين يزورون الجزيرة عاما بعد عام. وقد زاد عدد الزوار الذين وصلوا إلى أماكن الإقامة بنسبة 50 في المائة تقريبا منذ عام 2003 من 000 90 إلى ما يقرب من 000 135 من الوافدين في عام 2006. وقد تجاوز عدد الزوار القادمين 000 300 في عام 2008. ويتوقع أن يصل عدد الزوار إلى سانت كيتس ونيفيس بحلول نهاية عام 2017 حوالي 000 470. يعد فندق ماريوت سانت كيتس وفورسيزونز نيفيس وسانت كيتس ونيفيس من أهم الفنادق العالمية الشهيرة، حيث لا يوفر للسياح وجهة مثالية لقضاء العطلات فحسب، بل يوفر أيضا للمستثمرين فرصة لتنمية الجزيرة والاستفادة من موقعها سهل الوصول وسوق السياحة المتنامي..

About St. Kitts and Nevis

The Federation of St. Kitts & Nevis is a twin island nation in the British West Indies. Twenty-three miles long and five miles wide, the country is also known as the “Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis” and encompasses an area of 68 square miles. The island of Nevis is located 2 miles to the south of St. Kitts and is approximately 7 miles in diameter, covering a total area of 36 square miles.

The Federation of St. Kitts & Nevis follows a democratic system of governance based on the British Parliamentary System. As a part of the British Commonwealth, the Federation is headed by Her Majesty Elizabeth the Second, Queen of England. It is also a member of the United Nations (UN), the Organization of American States (OAS), Caricom and various other international organizations.

Following is a list of embassies in St. Kitts & Nevis:

Austria, Brazil, Cuba, Finland, France, Germany, Guyana, India, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom.

Claimed by Sir Christopher Columbus for Spain in 1493, St. Kitts was occupied by a Spanish expedition. During the late 17th and early 18th century, France and Spain separately inhabited St. Kitts and battled for its control until St. Kitts came under British rule during the 18th century. Named for Sir Christopher Columbus, the island attained independence in 1983 and has since become the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis. The island of Nevis, once nicknamed “Queen of the Caribees” because of its riches, was occupied by the Spanish in 1629, but eventually returned to England under the Treaty of Madrid in 1630. Nevis was officially the most profitable colony per capita in the British Empire.

The country has a population of c. 52,000 people and enjoys a high literacy rate of 97.8%. The official language is English. Anglican, Roman Catholicism, other Protestant, Islam and Rastafarian religions are practiced in St. Kitts & Nevis.

The twin islands of St. Kitts & Nevis are known for hosting many cultural and musical events, including the annual Carnival, St. Kitts Music Festival and Culturama. Many festivals are celebrated on 19 September to mark the St. Kitts & Nevis Independence Day. The islands are extremely popular for their colorful parades, street dances, salsa, jazz, soca, calypso and steelpan music.

The economy of St. Kitts & Nevis is characterized by its dominant tourism, agriculture and light manufacturing industries. Historically since the 1640’s, sugar was the primary export. However the government’s efforts to reduce the country’s dependence on sugar has led to economic diversification. Agriculture, tourism, export-oriented manufacturing and offshore-banking sectors are now playing a larger role in the country’s economy. The country has also developed a successful apparel assembly industry and one of the largest electronics assembly industries in Caribbean.

The St. Kitts & Nevis economy is still primarily driven by tourism – a sector that has witnessed incredible growth since 1978. Data shows a progressive increase in the number of tourists visiting the island nation, year after year. Stay-over visitor arrivals have increased by approximately 50 per cent since 2003 from 90,000 to the approximately 135,000 arrivals in 2006. Cruise arrivals passed the 300,000 mark in 2008. The expected number of visitors to St. Kitts & Nevis by the end of 2017 is approximately 470,000. Home to two renowned international hotels, the Marriott St. Kitts and Four Seasons Nevis, St. Kitts & Nevis not only offers tourists a perfect holiday destination, but also provides developers the chance to further enhance the island and benefit from its accessible location and growing tourism market.