圣基茨和尼维斯联邦

圣基茨和尼维斯联邦位于英属西印度群岛,是由圣基茨和尼维斯两座岛屿组成的岛国。这里还被称为“圣克里斯托弗和尼维斯联邦”,全长 23 英里,宽 5 英里,总占地面积 68 平方英里 。尼维斯岛位于圣基茨岛南部 2 英里处,直径约 7 英里,总占地面积 36 平方英里。

圣基茨和尼维斯联邦在英国议会制的基础上实行民主政体。是英联邦的成员,圣基茨和尼维斯联邦的国家元首为英国伊丽莎白二世女王。圣基茨和尼维斯联邦也是联合国会员、美洲国家组织、加勒比共同体等其他多个国际组织的成员。

下列各国均在圣基茨和尼维斯联邦设立了大使馆:

澳大利亚、巴西、古巴、芬兰、法国、德国、圭亚那、印度、以色列、意大利、牙买加、荷兰、挪威、西班牙、中国台湾、土耳其和英国。

1493 年,克里斯托弗•哥伦布从美洲回到西班牙后,宣布西班牙对新发现领土的主权,圣基茨岛被西班牙探险队占领。17 世纪末到 18 世纪初,法国和西班牙分别占据了圣基茨岛,两国为争夺该岛不断发生冲突。直到 18 世纪,圣基茨岛正式划归英国后战争才结束。1983 年,圣基茨岛独立,并以哥伦布的名字命名为克里斯托弗。圣基茨和尼维斯联邦由此成立。尼维斯岛曾被昵称为“小安的列斯群岛的女王”(Queen of the Caribees)。因为岛上物产富饶,1629 年的时候,西班牙曾占领该岛。1630 年,《马德里条约》签订后,尼维斯岛最终回归英国。尼维斯岛一度是英国殖民地中人均最富裕的一个岛屿。

圣基茨和尼维斯联邦人口约有 5.2 万,民众识字率高达 97.8%。官方语言为英语。这里宗教信仰自由,有圣公会、罗马天主教、其他基督教、伊斯兰教和拉斯特法里教。

圣基茨和尼维斯联邦的双子岛以举办众多文化和音乐活动而闻名,其中包括一年一度的狂欢嘉年华、圣基茨音乐节和交互式文化全景。9 月 19 日是圣基茨和尼维斯联邦的独立日,每年的这一天都会举办很多庆典。岛上色彩缤纷的游行、各种街舞、萨尔萨舞曲、爵士乐、索卡舞曲、卡利普索民歌以及钢鼓乐都非常受欢迎。

圣基茨和尼维斯联邦的经济以旅游业、农业和轻工制造业为主。1640 年代以来,糖一直是圣基茨和尼维斯联邦的主要出口商品。为了降低国家对于糖出口产业的依赖性,国家采取了一系列措施,由此也促使了这里的经济变得更加多元化。农业、旅游业、以出口为主导的制造业和离岸银行业务在国家经济中扮演着越来越重要的角色。圣基茨和尼维斯联邦还成功开发了服饰加工产业,以及加勒比海地区最大的电子装配产业之一。

旅游业仍然是推动这个岛国经济发展的重要支柱。自 1978 年以来,圣基茨和尼维斯联邦的旅游业获得了惊人的增长。数据显示,每年来岛国旅游的人数呈递增趋势。多日游的游客从 2003 年的 9 万人次增长了将近 50%,在2006 年达到 13.5 万人。乘船游览人数超过了 2008 年里程碑式的 30 万人。至 2017 年年底,圣基茨和尼维斯联邦的旅游人数有望超过 47 万人次。这里有两家著名的国际性酒店:圣基茨万豪酒店和尼维斯四季酒店,不仅是游客最憧憬的度假胜地,还是投资开发者的机遇之地。来自全球的投资和开发进一步促进了这个海岛发展,与不断便利的交通和不断增长的旅游市场形成良性循环。

About St. Kitts and Nevis

The Federation of St. Kitts & Nevis is a twin island nation in the British West Indies. Twenty-three miles long and five miles wide, the country is also known as the “Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis” and encompasses an area of 68 square miles. The island of Nevis is located 2 miles to the south of St. Kitts and is approximately 7 miles in diameter, covering a total area of 36 square miles.

The Federation of St. Kitts & Nevis follows a democratic system of governance based on the British Parliamentary System. As a part of the British Commonwealth, the Federation is headed by Her Majesty Elizabeth the Second, Queen of England. It is also a member of the United Nations (UN), the Organization of American States (OAS), Caricom and various other international organizations.

Following is a list of embassies in St. Kitts & Nevis:

Austria, Brazil, Cuba, Finland, France, Germany, Guyana, India, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom.

Claimed by Sir Christopher Columbus for Spain in 1493, St. Kitts was occupied by a Spanish expedition. During the late 17th and early 18th century, France and Spain separately inhabited St. Kitts and battled for its control until St. Kitts came under British rule during the 18th century. Named for Sir Christopher Columbus, the island attained independence in 1983 and has since become the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis. The island of Nevis, once nicknamed “Queen of the Caribees” because of its riches, was occupied by the Spanish in 1629, but eventually returned to England under the Treaty of Madrid in 1630. Nevis was officially the most profitable colony per capita in the British Empire.

The country has a population of c. 52,000 people and enjoys a high literacy rate of 97.8%. The official language is English. Anglican, Roman Catholicism, other Protestant, Islam and Rastafarian religions are practiced in St. Kitts & Nevis.

The twin islands of St. Kitts & Nevis are known for hosting many cultural and musical events, including the annual Carnival, St. Kitts Music Festival and Culturama. Many festivals are celebrated on 19 September to mark the St. Kitts & Nevis Independence Day. The islands are extremely popular for their colorful parades, street dances, salsa, jazz, soca, calypso and steelpan music.

The economy of St. Kitts & Nevis is characterized by its dominant tourism, agriculture and light manufacturing industries. Historically since the 1640’s, sugar was the primary export. However the government’s efforts to reduce the country’s dependence on sugar has led to economic diversification. Agriculture, tourism, export-oriented manufacturing and offshore-banking sectors are now playing a larger role in the country’s economy. The country has also developed a successful apparel assembly industry and one of the largest electronics assembly industries in Caribbean.

The St. Kitts & Nevis economy is still primarily driven by tourism – a sector that has witnessed incredible growth since 1978. Data shows a progressive increase in the number of tourists visiting the island nation, year after year. Stay-over visitor arrivals have increased by approximately 50 per cent since 2003 from 90,000 to the approximately 135,000 arrivals in 2006. Cruise arrivals passed the 300,000 mark in 2008. The expected number of visitors to St. Kitts & Nevis by the end of 2017 is approximately 470,000. Home to two renowned international hotels, the Marriott St. Kitts and Four Seasons Nevis, St. Kitts & Nevis not only offers tourists a perfect holiday destination, but also provides developers the chance to further enhance the island and benefit from its accessible location and growing tourism market.